Project 365: Day 106 “Sunday Brunch with the ‘Rents”

20120508-212032.jpg
My parents have a standing weekend ritual. They go have breakfast together at the local Thai restaurant near their house every Sunday where they order the sunrise special that consists of rice porridge, Thai coffee and crullers served with pandan pudding.

One morning, I happened to be down at their house and decided to join them. I realized that in these tiny slivers I was getting to know my parents as real people and not necessarily as parents. I overheard their hopes, their fears, their gossips, their gripes.

So, I started joining them randomly when I could to make up for lost time.

Leave a Reply

