Project 365: Day 64 “High Tea Time”

20120304-235823.jpg

A high tea lunch date took me to Jin Patisserie on Abbot Kinney in Venice on the first beach day of the year and boy was it like a mass migration to the sea.

What normally takes me about 7 minutes to get to took me a good 40 minutes!

Once we entered the hidden oasis of the tiny cafe, known for their French macarons, we were shielded from the hustling beach going crowd and traffic. It was if we found out little piece of serenity.

My date ordered the tea time set, which came with finger sandwiches, scones and pastries and choice of tea and because I am still observing no sweets for Lent, I went with just a smoked salmon sandwich and a “champagne” of teas that was infused with almond and peach. My meal actually came with cake. But, alas I didn’t take a bite.

Jin Patisserie’s macarons look amazingly decadent. I wanted more than anything to bite into a sea salt caramel one. But, held back. I guess I will have to return after Easter.

Cute little hideaway that shields the commotion from the streets. Tasty teas, sandwiches and delicious looking sweets that I will have to return another day to taste test.

Leave a Reply

