Project 365: Day 58 “Sugar is My Addiction”

20120227-224454.jpg

I have a sweet tooth. A pretty bad one at that. A borderline addiction. A meal wasn’t complete until it ended with sweets. I could even eat candy for breakfast.

Last year I did a good job trying to reset the palette by doing regular vegan, no sugar, gluten-free cleanses every few months. Complete with juicing I was able to cut the craving and change my tastebuds to want less sugar.

Then came the holidays last year and everything went out the window. And since then sugar has consumed me once again.

Hence, when Lent came around and people around me were giving up things of addiction, I decided to join in. So, for 40 days and 40 nights I will forego all sweets. No candy, cakes, sodas and ice cream. I’m allowing small amounts of sugar in regular cooking but any obvious sugar is a no-no.

Five days in and 35 more to go. This is going to be a hard one.

3 thoughts on “Project 365: Day 58 “Sugar is My Addiction”

  1. onelifethislife says:

    Good luck with your sugar cleanse! I recommend lots of water and fruits. The fruits are healthier and will give you the missing sugar that you’re now craving. At least this type of sugar will be natural vs processed. I would love to how your journey goes!

    • izziebleu says:

      Thanks for the tip! I’ve been eating a LOT of fruit and drinking lots of water. I think it’s a good way to flush out all the bad stuff along the way. It’s been hard but I’m getting used to not having so much sugar. Just have to keep slapping my hand when I reach for it subconsciously. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

