Foodspotting: Sakura Japanese Restaurant (Culver City, CA)

Unagi aka Fresh Water Eel. (Camera: iPhone 4S. App: Camera+)

Tonight, one of my oldest friends from high school, C, took me out to dinner for my birthday. We both have an affinity for good food. So, when she said it was my choice, knowing her love for Sakura, it was as simple as pie. Since she was also the one responsible for introducing me to the place about 4 years ago.

Sakura House Roll. (Camera: iPhone 4S. App: Camera+)

Everyone who I have taken here since always ends up loving it and make it a regular stop on their sushi restaurant list. It’s a little, modest hole in the wall with an overflow of people always waiting outside. It’s not fancy but the food speaks for itself. It’s good sushi reasonable priced. The cuts are of generous proportions.

Senbei aka Spicy Tuna on Crispy Rice. (Camera: iPhone 4S. App: Camera+)

Blue Fin Tuna. (Camera: iPhone 4S. App: Camera+)

Red Snapper. (Camera: iPhone 4S. App: Camera+)

Albacore Sashimi. (Camera: iPhone 4S. App: Camera+)

This is hands down one of my favorite go to places for sushi. It’s good, it’s reasonable priced and there is absolutely no pretentiousness anywhere in the building. I hear it’s where the area sushi chefs actually come to eat after they get off of work. That must mean something.

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
4545 South Centinela Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90066
310.822.7790

7 thoughts on “Foodspotting: Sakura Japanese Restaurant (Culver City, CA)

  1. jewels says:

    I love this place too. However, I beg to differ on who brought who here first. Ceci brought me, and then, I brought C. And then she took you. So technically you’re right but I should get some shoutout here!
    hehe.

Leave a Reply

