Project 365: Day 14 “Reading to Kids”

 

Day 14: Reading to kids. (Camera: iPhone 4S. App: Camera+).

Once a month, every second Saturday, hundreds of volunteers give up their Saturday mornings to read to kids at disadvantaged elementary schools across LA with the Reading to Kids program.

I had taken a hiatus in 2010 during my chemo treatments as an advised precaution. My doctor told me to avoid germs as much as possible when my immune system was compromised. And number one on that list was young children who were probably at vaccine receiving age especially in a school environment, a breeding ground for infections.

I returned to the program today and realized how much I loved it. The interaction with the kids, the sense of camaraderie amongst the volunteers, and the hope that you’ll help spark the love and appreciation of reading with the next generations.

By the end of the session I was having separation anxiety as each one of my little charges walked away to find their guardians. Read on little ones.

2 thoughts on “Project 365: Day 14 “Reading to Kids”

  1. onelifethislife says:

    Someone needs to create “Love” button. I admire your strength and love of life! BTW Children have that magical gift that makes you never want to not be around them. It’s wonderful that you volunteer. More people should.

    • izziebleu says:

      Thank you! I agree. More people should volunteer just to broaden their perspectives not too mention possibly enriching the lives of others and being enriched in return. I love your One Life This Life concept! It’s inspirational!

Leave a Reply

