Foodspotting: NYC Seafood (Monterey Park, CA)

So, after 7 days out of the 15, on the Reboot Program, I fell dramatically from grace. Eating only fruits and veggies was proving to be very challenging for a food lover like me. Going to work, getting lunch with coworkers, after-work social activities, visiting the family, etc. All aspects of my life revolved around food. There were so many temptations everywhere…even in my dreams! I was beginning to think I was only setting myself up for failure.

On Sunday, I got a text from my brother who just got notified that he had won his lawsuit and that to celebrate he was taking us all out to eat. He of course being the crustacean aficionado that he is decided he wanted to go to any place that had crab. So, we all decided to meet in the middle in Monterey Park because we were all coming from every which way. We decided on Seafood Village,  which we had discovered a few years ago after our favorite fried, garlic crab go-to  place, Macau Street, had closed down. Seafood Village was right across the street and had pretty good reviews on Yelp. So, after that fateful failed attempt to visit Macau we gave Seafood Village a try and their House Crab at $8.99 for a full crab (at the time) topped with tons of crispy, fried garlic won all our stomachs over.

Unfortunately though, August is not really Dungeness crab season even with the  good harvest this year. Dungeness crab season usually runs from mid-November to June. So, we were out of luck. We go across the street in the other direction and try NYC Seafood  because my dad decided to go in and based on muddled Chinese/English conversation he had with the waiter he concluded they had crab because of the photos on the wall.

When we sit down and look at the menu, we come to find out there is no crab. But, they do have lobster. That’ll do. At this point, I haven’t decided that I was going to deter from my veggie and fruit only diet yet. But, all the noise and smells began to cloud my judgement. And when the ordering began, I knew that I had lost. But, if I was going to go out, I was going to go out with a bang. And this is what I lost to. I couldn’t resist.

The spread.

Walnut shrimp.

Peking duck.

Fried frog legs with lemongrass.

Garlic fried lobster.

I failed. Miserably. But, damn failure never tasted so good. Next, week I’m back to being vegan. Stay tuned.

NYC Seafood
715 W Garvey Ave
Monterey Park, CA 91754
626.289.9898

4 thoughts on “Foodspotting: NYC Seafood (Monterey Park, CA)

    • izziebleu says:

      For sure! It was a random find. I usually go to Seafood Village across the street but everything we ordered at NYC was delicious! I might have to try your place sometime too. I always love to try new restaurants!

Leave a Reply

