Juicing 101

Day 1 is always easy. You’re pumped and excited and have high ambitions. Your energy alone gets you through the day.

I was very excited to start the cleanse especially since I hadn’t been eating great lately all thanks to a junk food stocked kitchen at work. I usually make my regular green juice concoction that yields about 3 days worth of juice the night before to save time. You don’t want to keep fresh juice any longer than 3 days because it starts to lose its nutrients and browns to a poop color that isn’t so appetizing. Since, I’ve been juicing since January, I can eyeball amounts and know how much juice should yield from any given amount of fruits and veggies. I’ve found my preferred combination and have stuck to it for the most part since. I buy most of my veggies from Trader Joe’s because their organic produce is more affordable than Whole Foods. Sometimes, I’ll pick up specific items from the local Farmer’s Market. A new place that I just recently discovered is Sprouts Farmer’s Market, which sells locally grown produce in a traditional brick and mortar. Their produce is fresher than TJ’s because it isn’t doesn’t come prepackaged and cheaper than Whole Foods. I spend probably about $40-$50 in groceries a week with most of it being produce. And, I can usually get at least 15 meals out of that.

Izzie’s Green Machine Recipe

1 head of romaine

1 head of broccoli

2 cucumbers

6-8 cups of spinach, kale, collard greens

4-6 carrots

1 bell pepper

4 stalks celery

1-2 apples

1 orange

1 pear

Juice Ingredients

The beauty of juicing is that you can create your own perfect juice just to your liking. This is just my regular go to recipe because it’s got a nice variety of fruits and veggies but it also tastes good. I use a Jack Lalane Power Juicer, $100.00, that I inherited from my parents because they weren’t using it anymore. Though I have had my eye on the Breville 800JEXL Juice Fountain Elite 1000-Watt Juice Extractor, $299.00 on Amazon. Juicing unfortunately takes a little bit of planning and effort, which is why most people see it as laborious and not worth their time. But, I’ve been able to knock it down to under 30 minutes which includes, set-up, washing, cutting, juicing and clean-up. And again, since I juice enough for 3 days I only have to do this twice a week. Completely worth the time and effort investment!

Jack Lalane Power Juicer

In addition to the juice I like to add an extra shot of greens by way of Amazing Grass Green Superfoods, All Natural Drink Powder, for added bonus. Amazing Grass Green Superfoods is blended to perfection in a delicious tasting powder that mixes well with juice, water or your favorite beverage. One serving gives you the antioxidant equivalent of 7 servings of fruits and vegetables and helps you hit your daily quota. This is totally optional. I just like the the wheatgrass and acai ingredients for extra antioxidants.

Amazing Grass Green Superfoods Drink Powder

After you finish juicing, make sure to store your juice in an airtight glass container. I use the Slom Bottle with stopper from IKEA, $3.99. You will need two for the amount of juice the above recipe yields. Perfect for keeping your juice from oxidizing too fast and stays green longer in an airtight glass bottle. Also, invest in a wine bottle/decanter brush to help wash away the veggies stains that will accumulate in the bottle. The brush should only set you back about $5. I’ve been meaning to get one but haven’t gotten around to buying one because I always forget when I’m at the store. I usually just rinse out the bottle with apple cider vinegar and sea salt. The stains are harmless. But, again doesn’t look too appetizing.

Slom Bottle with Stopper from Ikea, $3.99

And there you have it folks, juicing 101. It’s really not as difficult and time-consuming as it may seem. And the benefits are totally worth it. So, start today!

5 thoughts on “Juicing 101

    • izziebleu says:

      Thanks Sadye! Yes, you definitely have to get the kids on the juicing. No more of that store shelf stuff. This is pure nutrients for growing kids!

Leave a Reply

