Farm Fresh to You: Organic Produce Delivered to Your Door

Last week, I had a pleasant surprise waiting for me in my desk chair when I got into work on Tuesday morning. A big, brown box waiting to be opened. It was my very first delivery from Farm Fresh to You. And I was excited!

First box of yummy, organic produce delivered to my office.

During a time when more and more people are wanting to know where their food comes from,  Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) is becoming a popular alternative for getting high quality food from a trusted local farm. CSA allows city residents to have direct access to high quality, fresh produce grown locally by regional farmers. Farm Fresh to You currently connects about 6,000 customers to fresh, organic produce straight from the Capay Organic Farm.

Beautiful selection of organic fruits and veggies.

I had been meaning to sign up for a CSA for quite some time, so when there was a deal on Living Social for $15 I quickly snagged it up. The $15 voucher was good for a regular box normally $31.50 worth of fresh, organic produce, delivery included. When you create a profile on Farm Fresh to You, you can choose from a variety of combinations and box sizes suited to your particular needs. More Fruit, More Veggies, A Combo, etc. You can even customize what you don’t want to ever be included, in case you despise brussels sprouts like me, and what you would want extra of instead. Since I juice a lot, I settled on the Regular Mixed LA box. In this particular shipment I got:

5 Red Plums

1.5lb Flame Seedless Grapes

1.5lb Yellow Summer Squash

1 Red Seedless Watermelon

1 White Cauliflower

1 bunch of Carrots with tops

1 box of Mixed Heirloom Tomatoes

1 bunch of Green Leaf Lettuce

1 bunch of Fresh Celery

On their website, next to each item there is a link to recipes that call for that particular fruit or vegetable. Just in case if you don’t know what to do with what comes in the box. But, that’s the part that I find exciting. Not knowing what is going to be coming next and being surprised and having to cook something new that you may not have even thought of before. The quality of the fruit and veggies was superb, just like you would find at a local Farmer’s Market. Everything was well packed and nothing damaged in the shipping process. It was hand delivered to my office first thing in the morning. Once it’s time for the next shipment, they ask you fold up the old box for pickup so that they could be reused.

Recycle and reuse.

I did the bi-weekly delivery as the Regular Mixed box is supposed to feed 2-3 people a week. But, since I do juice a lot and am about to start the Reboot Your Life program tomorrow which means I can only drink green juice and eat fruits and veggies for the next 15 days, I’m sure I’ll go through the entire box in no time. Stay tuned for tales from the Reboot!

Leave a Reply

