Finding Ryan Reynolds: Green Lantern Premiere

Since Ryan Reynolds is supposedly single again, sorry Charlize, I thought I’d take a moment to put a call out there to let him know that I’m looking for him;)

About a month ago, I had the chance to attend the Hollywood premiere of Green Lantern thanks to 8Asians.com. I had been highly anticipating this summer movie because I have a weak spot for comic book stories come to life. And not because I’m an avid reader of comic books but because I enjoy the shift from the mundane reality to the hyper-imagination of the superhero realm.  It reunites me with my childhood spirit of adventure and invincibility and I get to lose all grasp with reality for the 120 minutes duration of the film. Who am I kidding? The main  reason why I was sold on a movie about pink aliens in green tights who use willpower as their secret weapon to defend the Universe was well, Ryan Reynolds.

Black carpet premiere.

Now, to prove that I’m not just jumping on the RR and his larger-than-life-abs bandwagon, I’d like to state that my infatuation began way before the days of The Proposal, Van Wilder or X-Men. See, once upon a time when I was a burgeoning preteen, long before the word tween was even coined, there was a show on Nickelodeon called Fifteen. This was Nickelodeon’s first attempt at a teen soap opera and it would set the stage for a teen drama renaissance that would eventually require its own network. Reynolds played quiet, nice guy, baby of the show, Billy Simpson. I spent hours watching what I could only hope my soon-to-be teen years would be like. And being closest in age to Billy, I identified with him the most so it was only natural that I would go to bed wishing that I would be so lucky if Billy was my boyfriend.

Hello!

Flash forward to decade later and I was on the set of Van Wilder working as a college student extra on the UCLA campus. Little did I know, that this relatively unknown Ryan Reynolds character was the same Billy Simpson I had pined for 10 years earlier. We were formally re-introduced again in 2005 when Just Friends came out and I fell in love all over again. Who was this sweet, funny, charming guy who not only could woo the female population but the male world as well.  I’m sure he was voted “Best-All-Around” in a yearbook somewhere. With a little IMDB research, I quickly found out that this was the same guy that I had my first TV crush on. Ryan Reynolds was Billy Simpson from Fifteen!

As fate would dictate, almost another decade later, the stars aligned and I am the lucky recipient of Green Lantern premiere tickets. And I was going to be in the same movie theater as Billy Simpson, Ryan Reynolds, himself. I was beyond ecstatic. The goal for the night to get a photograph with the man of my 11-year-old dreams. Not sure if it was a kosher thing to do in a theater full of actors, producers, and other important entertainment people. But, who cares. No one was going to stand in the way of true love! Besides, I needed a new Christmas card to send out this year. I have a running gag of printing drugstore holiday photo cards with pictures that I have taken with famous people, Will Smith, Ashton Kutcher, Jason Schwartzman, and DMC. Ryan Reynolds would have been perfect for Christmas 2011.

Standing in front of the Black carpet.

So, I was a girl on a mission but because of typical LA traffic, we get to the Hollywood and Highland complex about 7:15pm when the screening was scheduled to start at 7pm. But, knowing that it’s LA and nothing starts on time, we weren’t too worried. Unfortunately, though since it was about to start we were ushered straight to will call alongside the black carpet and watched briefly as the photogs snapped away at arriving celebrities. I scanned the crowd posing for photos. Nope, no sign of Ryan anywhere. After picking up the tickets, we go through security check and pick up free concessions at the front along with our 3D glasses. We get shown our seats, which were pretty decent right smack in the middle of the theater. We sit only for a few minutes when a buzz starts moving across the theater. Ryan Reynolds was in the house. He was unassuming and quiet, no large entourage, no hot, eye-candy date hanging around his neck. Random people went up to him to shake hands and congratulate. Hmmm, but no picture-taking. I couldn’t tell if these people were fans or just industry folk. I sit for a few minutes, strategizing my game plan. Finally, I garner up the nerve to just walk up to him and hope that I don’t verbal vomit and got about 10 feet away when I got stopped by security who informed me the movie was about to start and that I should return to my seat. Noooo! So, close. I wanted to yell across the 10 feet that separated us, “Ryan! I loved you on Fifteen!” But, decided against it. I mean, I actually did want to see the movie and didn’t want to get kicked out. So, I returned to my seat and watched the movie in all its 3D glory knowing he was only 10 rows behind me and would laugh just a little bit louder to let him know that I thought he did a good job being funny. I was watching a movie with Ryan Reynolds! Well, sort of. He disappeared stealthily into the night, probably to the after-party, before the end credits even rolled.

See you in 10 years, Ryan!

Alien spaceship behind me.

Now, for the movie review.

I really wanted to like this movie so I could go back and rave about it and convince unsuspecting people to go see it like I did with Bridesmaids.

In brightest day, in blackest night, no evil disguised as noisy, poorly written summer blockbusters shall escape my sight. As much as Ryan Reynolds could have been the saving grace in terms of eye candy and charming wit, which goes disappointingly untapped for most of the movie, there wasn’t much else going for the really bad film translation of an already hokey comic book story.

Guardians of the Universe are chosen based on something the “ring” sees in the potential bearer even if it’s unbeknownst to him or her, like fearlessness, or in the case of The Green Lantern’s Hal Jordan, the “ability to overcome fear” as pointed out by the lackluster love-interest Blake Lively’s character Carol Ferris, who, by the way, was far away from her home on the Upper East Side. Total miscast in my opinion and I totally love Gossip Girl.  The two felt more like a brother and sister pair and a boring one at that. Though there was one scene that finally showed some sign of personality when the Green Lantern flies onto her balcony and she recognizes that it’s actually Hal. Best scene of the entire movie which left me wanting more only to left disappointed.

The Guardian with the ring possesses the power to use will to manifest thoughts and ideas to fruition to help defend their sector from big, brown, bad-guy globs reminiscent of the sandstorm that embodies High Priest Imhotep in The Mummy. The part about using will as a weapon I found pretty cool as I tried to imagine what I would will up if I ever came face to face with a brown glob in a dark alley.  My will manifested less metallic violence and more about rainbows and unicorns as I utilize the kill-them-with-kindness logic=)

Poor Peter Sarsgaard plays the drown-trodden scientist Hector Hammond whose only motivation for turning evil is his envious desire to look more like Hal just so he could get the girl. Sorry, moral of the story folks, ugly people lose in the end was the takeaway that I got. Tim Robbins also made a cameo as Hector’s patronizing senator dad before being engulfed in flames manipulated by his own son. Angela Basset also runs around briefly as the alien probing scientist before getting thrown up against a glass window during Hector’s wrath.

All in all I felt like the Green Lantern reached to be Iron Man but failed miserably: the weak plot, choppy script, bland chemistry between the leads, and lack of the ‘ole Reynolds funny charm garners a one and a half thumbs down.

I give it half a thumbs up for some cool special effects and Reynolds perfect physique;)

3 thoughts on “Finding Ryan Reynolds: Green Lantern Premiere

Leave a Reply

