Cut Me Open but Please Be Gentle

Cedars Sinai Outpatient 9:30am – Lymph Node biopsy surgery
Today I had the first, cut-me-open, surgery of my life.  The only other thing that comes close to surgery is when I got my wisdom teeth pulled out.  I know it’s not on the same scale as heart surgery or anything but I was still a little anxious.  I was going under general anesthesia and they were going to cut a finger-long slit in my armpit to dig around for an enlarged lymph node and cut it out.  And I wasn’t going to be aware of any of it while it was happening which is slightly disconcerting for someone who likes to have control of her life.

Prepping for lymph node biopsy.

All I remember is seeing my sister and then someone rubbing something bitter on my lips and I was about to say that it was burning and then I was waking up in the recovery room where I was last was only slightly groggy.  I don’t even remember being wheeled into operating room like I did for the endoscopy and colonoscopy.  But, this time I didn’t wake up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, I felt pretty bad.  Like I got run over by a truck while I was out.  All I wanted when I finally came to was apple juice because I hadn’t had anything to eat or drink since the night before and I was starving.

My sister drove me home and my parents were waiting at my apartment with my cousin and his girlfriend who were visiting from SF.  I was a little out of it from the anesthesia and painkillers.  So, they stayed for a little bit, kept me company and then went to dinner.

The rest of the day was a bit hazy due to the Vicodin.

Leave a Reply

