Needle in the Eye #2 Needed Some Comfort Food Therapy

Dr. Hopkins at 10:10am

I had a follow-up with Dr. Hopkins to make sure the injection site was healing okay. At the previous visit she mentioned another injection, Avastin, that would prevent the growth of new blood vessels, which is normally given to diabetics with macular degeneration. Avastin® (bevacizumab) is the first U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved therapy designed to inhibit angiogenesis, the process by which new blood vessels develop and carry vital nutrients to a tumor. It is normally used in cancer treatment and has not been approved to be injected into the eye to prevent blood vessels from forming and being attacked by immune cells and bleeding out, as in my case. So, I had to sign a waiver of some sort and then I got another needle stuck in my eye!

Twice in one week. But, by this point I was a pro and Dr. Hopkins who has a much gentler touch was perfect in the administering. It was not as bad as the first one though I did end of seeing a round black glob of the drug for a few days that would move with my eyeball. It was so strange. Because I was such a good patient, A and I decided to try out to the Boiling Shrimp for some Cajun seafood knock-off of Boiling Crab in Alhambra. I must say that it met and exceeded expectations. Especially the secret seafood sauce that they serve to dip the yummy morsels of the sweet, succulent Dungeness meat and prawns in. But, the best part was there was no 2-hour wait for my dinner! Which is the main pitfall about Boiling Crab. Boiling Shrimp’s equivalent of the Whole She-Bang sauce combination is tastier to the likes of my Thai tastebuds and they use a whole lot of fresh garlic and Thai seasonings.

3 thoughts on “Needle in the Eye #2 Needed Some Comfort Food Therapy

Leave a Reply

