Going Under

Today I went under anesthesia for an endoscopy and colonscopy.  I checked in at Cedars-Sinai at noon as an outpatient.  All I remember is the anesthesiologist telling me that she was going to start the IV and that it might burn a little at the IV site.  My hand was on fire and before I could tell her that I was out and the next thing I knew I was out of the operating quickly and it just felt like I had gone down for a nap.  I woke up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed and felt like nothing had happened.  No signs of forced entry or violation in anyway.  The chest pain I was experiencing even went away.  Probably from getting the pure oxygen while in the OR.  Going under anesthesia is a trippy experience.  It’s like you just stopped to exist for a few hours while things happen to your body that you have no control over of.

I was so hungry I ignored the doctor’s orders to take it easy on food for the next 24 hours or so.  I stopped by the Century City Mall on the way home and had a bad craving for Pink Taco’s nachos, which happens to be a decent-sized plate worthy of sharing and also my favorite nachos in town.  I was so hungry from fasting that I ate the entire plate without much hesitation.

2 thoughts on “Going Under

Leave a Reply

