Hypo, what?

Hypothyroidism.  Don’t know much about it except I think hypo makes you fat and hyper makes you skinny, which doesn’t make sense in my case because I was dropping weight as if I were deathly allergic to fat.  Thyroiditis is when your thyroid is either under-active or over-active.  Mine apparently was under-active from the inflammation going on from what we are beginning to think is a lupus flare.

From the Mayo Clinic, “See your doctor if you’re feeling tired for no reason or have any of the other signs or symptoms of hypothyroidism, such as dry skin, a pale, puffy face, constipation or a hoarse voice.”  Check, check, check, check and check.

After a routine blood test my rheumatologist phoned me and said she might know why I was feeling so crappy and knew what might make me feel better.  She called in a prescription for levothyroxine, thyroid hormone replacement, to my nearest CVS pharmacy and I started the medication immediately to see if it would help me from being so tired all the time.

I went to my bowling league tonight and realized that it’s becoming too painful to pick up my usual 10lb ball.  I developed a new technique to bowl that involved twisting the wrist inside out.  It’s a little awkward looking but works for the time being.  But, the stiffness in my wrist and the fatigue I am feeling is taking all the fun out of the sport.  I’m no longer finding pleasure in my usual activities because everything is exhausting these days.  All I want to do is sleep and even the sleep isn’t satisfying.

Leave a Reply

