Craziest Thing

A friend had asked me recently what’s the craziest thing I have done for a guy.  I thought about it for a little bit.  Thinking that the self-proclaimed spontaneous, non-traditional, defies conformity and believes rules were created to be broken free spirit in me would have a super long laundry list of extreme measures to choose from.  And you know I’ve realized?  I don’t think I’ve really done anything crazy for a guy.  Well, at least not the type of crazy that makes a pivotal scene in a romantic comedy.

I ponder why.

I’m a Capricorn.  We’re grounded by the Earth and are tethered to responsibility and definition, etc.  We’re logical and try to rationalize everything in a calm and collected manner.

I’m also stubborn as hell and very prideful and I will usually only venture out if I know it’s a sure shot.  Well, only when it comes to the matters of the heart.  Everything else feels my inconsistent craziness;)

But, let me seriously think about this.

Does throwing away your childhood dream of moving to NYC to move back to LA with your boyfriend at the time qualify as crazy?  Even if it’s where your family lives?  Or how about taking risqué digital photos of yourself and sending via email for him to forever keep and possibly sell to tabloids if you ever were to become famous.  Ummm, yeah.  Kind of hoping those got deleted.  Or maybe I should just cross off run for public office off my list of things to do now.  They say love makes you do crazy things.  So maybe I have done crazy things for a guy.  And, then it turns out that it doesn’t work out and then you smack yourself for doing such ridiculous things you would never do in a “right” frame of mind.  So, I guess that gamble, the one that makes you risk a pretty hefty weight on what may or may not be forever or real is what makes it crazy.

That’s what love is.  It’s a risk on another person that you have absolutely no control over.  Scary thought, isn’t it?  But without that risk, we just exist and that’s not really living.  But, check with me on another day and I might have a different opinion on this=)

Leave a Reply

