Living Life at Full Velocity

I blinked and it’s September! My New Year’s goals to blog daily dimished and blown out the windows like autumn leaves on a brisk, New England day. I had high ambitions. But it’s like, the second I sit down and start putting consonants and vowels together it’s like I’m falling in love all over again and I forget why I let it fall to the wayward in the first place.

I’ve been keeping busy with life because I’m afraid if I don’t, I’ll go back to that “dark” place where my head just fills with thoughts of what-ifs and what-nots and takes me out of living in the present. And I don’t want to go there again. I’ve made so much progress and it’s a lot easier to live at high velocity and slow down when needed than to start slow and rev the engine. I don’t know how long I keep this up for but it keeps me content and excited. I’ll forego sleep for now. Will make up for it in death later, right?

I’ve joined a group of fantastic women, we call ourselves the Kitchen Table Group (KTG) and we meet every two weeks over food and just chat about life. It’s a support network in disguise and I have gotten the chance to get to know such a wonderful group of beautiful, strong, courageous women. We meet Tuesday nights at restaurants and recently we’ve been doing potlucks at each other’s homes. I forget the importance of knowing that we’re not in it alone. I’m so stubborn sometimes and feel like I can do it all on my own. We talk about our goals and dreams for ourselves and we create action items for ourselves to help us get just a little closer to achieving them.

One of last night’s action items for me was to get back to blogging daily, along with taking up yoga/pilates to increase flexibility and finish my half-marathon on Sunday. I specifically want to focus on writing more, even if it’s just a one-sentence insight. I need that creative outlet. Even if no one reads my silly thoughts, it’s just a way for me to feel like I’m using the right side of my brain, and exercising my soul.

Feeling that stretch…

Leave a Reply

