30 Days of 30 Day 2: Karaoke at Brass Monkey

Day 2 of 30 Days of 30 starts with massive cleaning of my desk space. One of my New Year’s resolutions was to do an all over cleanse…of my body, my room, my closet, my writing, my life. I normally don’t do resolutions but I had a moment of ambitious clarity and wanted something to live by since I don’t normally have any rigidity otherwise.

I went to Sedona, AZ for Christmas with the family and climbed a few rocks to find these mystical vortexes that I read about on my last trip to Sedona with Emilie, Holly and Fern.

About.com further explains vortexes, “In Sedona vortexes are created, not by wind or water, but from spiraling spiritual energy. The vortexes of Sedona are named because they are believed to be spiritual locations where the energy is right to facilitate prayer, mediation and healing. Vortex sites are believed to be locations having energy flow that exists on multiple dimensions. The energy of the vortexes interacts with a person’s inner self. It is not easily explained. Obviously it must be experienced.”

After getting back, I felt this newfound energy emerging to the surface. An “I want to conquer the world” type of enthusiasm found its way into the forefront of my thoughts. I don’t know if the vortexes or the start of a new year had anything to with it. But, I will say that Sedona is definitely one of my favorite places on Earth.

So, with that as my inspiration I decided to make some changes. I needed some organization in my life and it needed to start with my barely there desk space. I shredded and threw away a year’s worth of statements, bills and whatnots that just sat on top of the desk in one big pile. It felt refreshing. I want to start on my closet next. I am also am starting a Eat Well diet. I bought the books online and am really trying to eat as organic as possible, subtracting processed foods and refined sugar from my diet. It’s been only a couple days. But, I’ve passed on creme brulee, red velvet cupcakes and Jelly Belly jellybeans! That’s willpower if I ever heard of it. Well, at least for me!

I hear that goals are more likely to be reached when written down. Let’s see if this works. I also am setting up a workout regimen to stay fit and healthy. I want to contribute more at work and do more to help make the company successful. I want to become an emerging media guru. Or at least a go-to person=-) I want to meet more people and be a better friend, sister and daughter. I want to date more and get to know more people. I want to fall in love again. I want to write more. Finish a script or book. Be more vigilant with my health. I want to pay off my debt. I created an expense sheet to manage my finances. I want to be on time to work. Silly I know.

I think this is a good start. I’m a brainstormer. I’m a good ideas person. Follow through is a challenge for me. But, that’s also what I want to work on. So this is it. The second day of the 2009 and this is what I have set for myself.

Oh, and I sang and danced my heart out at Brass Monkey. Boy George eat your heart out. “Karma, Karma, Karma Chameleon.” Oh, and I was drunk on one drink. Boy, am I a cheap date.

Leave a Reply

