$19 Million Inheritance from a Nicolas K.. Oh, Unnnncle Nicolas…

Strange. I get a random email in my inbox this morning. I know I’m guilty of using the word random very excessively. But, this email was very random. Upon closer look, it looked very similar to the Nigerian e-mail scam, which I have been a recipient of many times, yet this one comes off a little more personal and therefore believable. These scam artists are getting really good. I know it’s a scam, but the thought of inheriting $19 million did enticingly run through my mind. People do fall for these scams. Read this article in The New Yorker, about how a Massachusetts psychotherapist fell for the Nigerian e-mail scam. So, of course my investigative tendencies begin tugging at my heartstrings. I can’t help it, it’s the Nancy Drew in me.

So, there’s a link to an excite member page under my name. I don’t know what it is or what it means, or if it was the person who sent it to me. But, it is an Eric Winter who lives at 28985 Canyon Rim Drive, Trabuco Canyon, CA 92679. His email address is ewnttr@aol.com and his phone number is 714.589.3933. He works at Mission Viejo Television as a Station Manager and his phone number there is 714.581.6888.

So, I Google Eric Winter. The first entry is an Eric Winter on IMDB.com. I don’t know if this is the same one but this Eric Winter is pretty hot. He’s apparently an actor who has been on television shows ranging from “The Parkers”, which I was a regular background actor on while in undergrad which led me to think I might know him, to “CSI: Miami”. So, if this is you and you’re stalking me. Just say hi. I’m kidding. Sort of. I also find out that this Eric Winter was born July 17, 1976 in La Mirada, CA and graduated from UCLA with a degree in psychology. I had this intense crush in undergrad on this boy who went to La Mirada high school. See how one thing leads to another. This is where things begin to get out of hand. Investigative research border lines obsession.

My question is…do I reply and play games with them like they’ve tried to play games with me. I have no idea why they would choose me to try to scam from. I’ve got nothing to take but the clothes off my back and well yes the clothes in my closet and the more clothes in my dresser and even the more clothes in my hamper. Okay, I admit I’m a clothing whore. But, besides clothing, shoes, bags and books I haven’t got much to my name. So, nice try but you’re wasting your time.

Let’s play some games. BTW, you spelled alternatively wrong. Kudos to spelling my last name right though.

From: phan shiang [mailto:phanshg2@yahoo.com]
Sent: Friday, April 13, 2007 8:30 PM
To: MRM LAN Jobs
Subject: URGENT ATTENTION: Isabella K…

Dear Isabella K…,

I am Phan Shiang, an attorney at law. A deceased client of mine, by name Nicolas K…, who herein after shall be referred to as my client, died as the result of a heart-related condition on the 11 November 2001. His heart condition was due to the death of all the members of his family in the Gulf Air Flight Crashes in Persian Gulf Near Bahrain Aired August 23, 2000 – 2:50 p.m. ET as reported on: http://transcripts.cnn.com/TRANSCRIPTS/0008/23/bn.08.html

I contacted you to assist in distributing the money left behind by my client before it is confiscated or declared unserviceable by the bank where this deposit valued at 19 Million U.S Dollars is lodged. This bank has issued me a notice to contact the next of kin, or the account will be confiscated.

My proposition to you is to seek your consent to present you as the next-of-kin and beneficiary of my named client, since you have the same last name, so that the proceeds of this account can be paid to you. Then we can share the amount on a mutually agreed-upon percentage.

All legal documents to back up your claim as my client’s next-of-kin will be provided. All I require is your honest cooperation to enable us see this transaction through.

This will be executed under a legitimate arrangement that will protect you from many breach of the law. If this business proposition offends your moral values, do accept my apology.

I must use this opportunity to implore you to exercise the utmost indulgence to keep this matter extraordinary confidential, whatever your decision, while I await your prompt response. Please contact me at once to indicate your interest. Althernatively email me at: phanshg1@hotmail.com http://us.f636.mail.yahoo.com/ym/Compose?To=phanshg1@hotmail.com

Best regards,
Phan Shiang.
phone: +60-136-437-220 Ext:1-6
Malaysia

Leave a Reply

