“I Believes”

“I believe, I believe, I…I believe in the good. I believe that it’s been a hell of a year and I believe that in the face of overwhelming evidence to the contrary that we will be okay. I believe a lot of things. I believe that…I believe that Denny is always with me. And I believe that if I eat a tub of butter and no one sees that the calories don’t count. And I believe that surgeons who prefer staples over stitches are just lazy. And I believe that you are a man that made a terrible mistake marrying Callie and I believe that because I’m your best friend I can tell you this and we can be okay. I believe that even though you made this mistake you will be okay. I believe we survive, George. I believe that believing we survive is what makes us survive.”
– Izzie Stevens on “Grey’s Anatomy”

I switched the television on as background noise to keep me company as I tried to eat my dinner and contemplate whether or not I wanted to go back outside to attend the MySpace Secret Shows One Year Anniversary Party. I decided I didn’t really want to get wet or risk my life driving the streets of LA in the rain. Plus, I was still on Minnesota time and it was getting late in the Midwest.

Instead after I absent-mindedly tuned in and out of Wheel of Fortune, then Grey’s Anatomy came on and I watched back-to-back episodes and they were the best episodes ever. Well, the best episodes that I have seen since I did miss the entire last season. Go watch them on abc.com. Listening to Izzie spout off her “I believes”, I felt compelled to compile my own lists of “I believes”.

I believe…

In love.
My horoscopes.
Clear sodas are better for you than brown sodas.
There is good in all people.
In my guardian angel, Harael. I talk to him at a lot before I go to bed and in the car.
Money can’t buy happiness but it will stop me from stressing or worrying.
Animals can read our emotions and can heal us from our pains.
Red-colored candy is always the best flavor.
In making wishes when it is 11:11.
Good will always prevail over evil.
If I keep my fingers crossed I can tell a white lie and it’s okay.
A long drive can help to clear the mind and find an answer.
In conspiracy theories.
Hot showers in the morning wake me up spiritually and physically.
When I can see the bottom of the ocean that it’s safer to swim in than when I can’t.
In karma.
Honesty is the best policy.
Ice-cream is part of a balanced diet. Strong bones.
Sleep is overrated. I want to get by on only 3 hours of it a day. I feel like I could be doing so much more with that time.
Sleep is underrated. I sleep travel in my dreams and I get to have adventures that I can’t have in my real life – like grow red, scaly dragon wings on my back and soar through the air over Ireland.
In buying things with credit.
The 5-second rule and I will eat things that have fallen on the floor.
Love conquers all.
The day will start better if I get out of bed on a minute divisible by 5.
Everything happens for a reason.
There is ultimate peace when we die.
Retail therapy does really work. I have the credit cards bill to prove it.
Obstacles in life make us better, stronger people.
Everyone has a soundtrack to their lives.
There are no distinct right or wrong answers to anything…well except math. Everything else is a blur.
My singing is good in the shower and in the car when I’m by myself but terrible in front of other people.
People make mistakes and can learn from them if they choose to.
In fairies.
Happiness is a state of mind that we have to seek to in order to experience.
Everything I read on Wikipedia is the truth.
Forgiveness is the only way to unbind yourself from the situation you are trying to move forward from. It is the greatest gift you can give someone – a chance to grow and learn from their mistakes.
Cheese and grapes and Ben & Jerry’s Phish Food makes a healthy dinner.
If you imagine little Pac-Man’s going through your bloodstream eating up the invaders then you can heal yourself faster from illness.
Things will be okay. We’ll all be okay.

Leave a Reply

