Student Traveler PR Intern

Whew. Just to let you know, I was able to suppress my temperamental and foul-mouthed alter ego before any real damage was done. Well, I interviewed at Student Traveler Magazine. And I start Thursday. It’s an internship with a little $300 commencement stipend and it looks like I’ll be doing a good portion of the public relations (like all of it), which entails writing all the press releases to consumer, trade and business media. I guess my destiny lies in PR. I’m now the official PR girl. Maybe I should switch majors to Public Relations which BTW Syracuse ranked #3 at by the 2004 U.S. News & World Report. Not too shabby.

I saw the dermatologist this morning and he diagnosed me with atopic dermatitis which is a type of eczema. Don’t worry it’s not contagious. It’s hereditary. Thanks to Moms and Pops. The word “dermatitis” means inflammation of the skin. “Atopic” refers to a group of diseases where there is often an inherited tendency to develop other allergic conditions, such as asthma and hay fever. I’ve had both. Now, I know why I itch like mad when I wear wool sweaters or walk by the perfume section of department stores. I spent $156.46 on prescription Elidel cream for my atopic dermatitis. Crap.

After my Student Traveler interview, I headed over to The Wherehouse at The Beverly Connection to see Tony Lucca perform in-store. I bought his album “Shotgun” alongside Elvis Costello’s “When I Was Cruel”, Blur’s ST, The Cardigans’ “Life” and Travis’ “The Invisible Band”. Really, purchases I could have lived without but with the exception of Tony Lucca, they were all used. So, that was my rationalization. I’m horrible. But to know that if I died tomorrow, I could leave these cd’s to my unborn grandchildren. Wait…my unborn nieces and nephews. These are great cd’s. Whatever. I’ll just starve in New York. I’ll be on the I-spend-all-my-money-living-life diet. And come back all supermodel waif. Yeah, that’s going to go over real well with my already whacked out immune system.

Leave a Reply

