NYC/Boston/D.C. Whirlwind

I’m back from my NYC/Boston/D.C. whirlwind. As much as I love getting away there’s nothing better in the world than coming home. Especially now that I don’t have to live out of my suitcase and lug it through luggage-unfriendly subway turnstiles and up and down subway stairs. I did get quite a workout walking everywhere and using the stairs though. Although, I think I may have exacerbated an old knee injury. I am obsessed over public transportation. I want to give up driving forever. It was freezing in Boston. Well, to us at least. People were in t-shirts and sandals and Angela and I were wearing scarves and gloves. And they laughed at us when we told them we were moving to the East Coast. I wonder what they meant.

Boston Highlights:
cobblestone streets, movie-like settings, meeting Victoria, finding Angela’s apartment, college students everywhere, Newbury Street, Urban Outfitter’s Basement, H&M, no clothing tax, Boston Common, Quincy Market, walking half of The Freedom Trail, my first cannoli at Mike’s Pastry, Harvard Square, Bartley’s onion rings and raspberry lime rickey, dinner at a quaint trattoria called Pomodoro in the North End, Berklee students with their instruments.

D.C. Highlights:
seeing Anna Luisa, eating wraps and smoothies at Wrapworks, seeing the back of the White House, the Vietnam, Lincoln, Korean memorials, walking in the empty Reflection Pool with the Washington monument in the backdrop, peeing in the Smithsonian, taking pictures of the U.S. Capitol, Supreme Court and Library of Congress, a night out in Adams Morgan that included yummy Indian cuisine, meeting uber of a sweetheart Kim (Angela’s old boss), chocolate raspberry cheesecake, a hookah, a drunken group effort rendition of “You’ve Lost That Loving Feeling”, a flow-style serenade from an aspiring rap artist, random cool shoe spotting and a long walk home talking about penis size and accompanying matter with two girls, one straight boy and one bi boy, a pee-in-your-pants funny conversation with a drunken Chinese-speaking white boy and his translator, a yummy spinach quesadilla from Burrito Brothers, Kim’s homemade brownies and finally finding Eastern Market after scouring almost all of D.C.

NYC Highlights:
5th Avenue window shopping, pretending to buy an engagement ring at Tiffany’s, buying the only size 6 coveted red hooded coat at H&M, spotting book-reading, pretty male models, walking the entirety of Central Park and finding Belevedere’s Castle, eating New York style pizza, watching a film shoot of the Olsen Twins’ new movie, random movie moment scene spottings, the frozen hot chocolate at Serendipity’s, laughing and talking extremely loud everywhere with Charisse, chasing Robert Sean Leonard in the subway, having dinner with old friends from high school, walking the same steps as Jake Gyllenhaal did at Columbia, seeing over the hedge maze in Connie Gretz’z Secret Garden, being aboard the Staten Island ferry as it crashed into the loading dock, getting up at the butt crack of dawn to get Conan O’Brien tickets and being #3 and #4, meeting and talking with #1 and #2 for three hours in the freezing cold.

It was fun while it lasted. And now I have to go back to work to pay off the debt I accrued. I think I’m leaving for Thailand in December but I’ll be back in time for Mardi Gras in February cuz I pinky promised a friend. So, if anyone else wants to go let’s do some planning. Maybe a road trip. And I’ll have to squeeze in Europe sometime between March and July before I head off to school. On Saturday, an old friend is getting married and another old friend finally comes home. I need a Halloween costume. Anyone got any suggestions? Last year, I was a forest nymph and before that a gun-toting Bonnie minus the Clyde. Tricia B, are we still going to Las Vegas? Remember, October 12th we have a date. I am so excited.

Leave a Reply

