A Girl Who Likes Mangoes

Ahhh, I just got done cooking my 30-minute meal. I need my own cooking show. I made this Thai rice porridge with side dishes. The sides included sweetened white radish stir-fried with egg, seasoned sausage, bell pepper, tomato, and red onion omelette, and this dried shrimp and onion thing that has lime juice, fish sauce and sugar. Cooking relieves my stress. It’s fun. But I don’t like to eat my own cooking. I like to let other people eat it. So, maybe one day I’ll cook for you. I think I want to go to culinary school. Wouldn’t that be fun.

I got my toe cast off yesterday and I wanted to go running but when I went to put my trainers on it hurt, so I had to take them off and wait it out a couple more days.

I’ve been like a recluse this past week. I’ll go through weeks going out everyday and then the following week I’m antisocial and need the time for reflection. It reminds me of a book I read a long time ago called “Journal of A Solitude” by May Sarton. I wonder where that book is. I want to read it again.

I am a girl. A girl who likes mangoes. A girl who is having a mango as she types this. Mmmm, yummy.

Okay, so I started playing this game called “Harvest Moon” for PS2. And it’s addicting. The whole object of the game is to work at your grandfather’s farm to save the homeland from developers. They want to build a resort there or something. So, you have to take care of the farm and befriend your fellow villagers and come up with an “idea” to save the land. The game is non-linear and depending on how you play there are nine different endings all stemming from your “idea” to save the place. Right now I’m trying to find this magical ingredient for this cake contest that will reap a reward big enough to fend off the developers. The ingredient only appears on a full moon when two people who are in love meet by the Goddess lake and bring a jar of spring water infused with honey and moon flowers. Ethereal, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

